Omicron: Nigeria plans reciprocal flights’ ban on Canada, Britain, others this week



Nigeria to ban flights to Britain, Canada, others

By Valentine Amanze

The Nigerian government will this week ban flights from Argentina, Britain, Canada and Saudi Arabia in retaliation for being added to the countries’ red lists over the detection of the Omicron coronavirus variant last month.

Nigeria’s Aviation Minister, Hadi Sirika, disclosed this in a recorded comments shared with journalists on Sunday December 12, 2021.

Sirika stated that he recommended that the four countries be placed on a COVID-19 “red list,” which would entail a ban on flights.

His words: “We have given our input as aviation that it is not acceptable by us and we recommend that those countries, Canada, UK, Saudi Arabia and Argentina, be also put on red list, just like they did similarly to us.

“So, I am very sure between now and Monday or perhaps Tuesday maximum, all those countries will be put on the red list. Once they are on the red list, which means they are banned, their airlines will also be banned.”

Recall that Britain was the first country to announce a travel “red list”, which Nigeria described as unjust and unfair.

Several countries have restricted the movement of people from some African nations since the Omicron variant was first detected in southern Africa and Hong Kong. It has since spread to at least 57 countries.

The World Health Organization (WHO) had said countries should apply an “evidence-informed and risk-based approach” when deciding on travel measures related to Omicron, including possible screening or quarantine of international passengers, adding that blanket bans do not prevent its spread.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here