Breaking: UK removes Nigeria, 10 other countries from Omicron red list


Heathrow Airport (Google photo)

UK removes travel ban on Nigeria, others

By Valentine Amanze

The United Kingdom (UK) will by 4am on Wednesday December 15, 2021, remove Nigeria and 10 other countries from its travel red list.

The UK Health Secretary, Sajid Javid, disclosed to the Parliament that the measure was nolonger necessary as the Omicron variand had spread to the community level worldwide.

Late November the UK government placed 11 African countries –

Angola, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Zambia and Zimbabwe – on the red list as a precaution after the emergence of the Omicron variant of coronavirus (COVID-19).

Sajid Javid told the Parliament: “Now that there is community transmission of Omicron in the UK and Omicron has spread so widely across the world, the travel red list is now less effective in slowing the incursion of Omicron from abroad.

“Whilst we will maintain our temporary testing measures for international travel we will be removing all 11 countries from the travel red list effective from 4am tomorrow morning.”

Currently, all UK arrivals from red list countries must pay for and self-isolate in a pre-booked, government-approved hotel for 10 days, according to BBC report.

It reported that some travellers had already paid thousands of pounds to stay in government-approved quarantine hotels, and there had been complaints of chaotic organisation and inedible food during their stays.

Javid said he had asked for urgent advice on whether those currently in managed quarantine would be able to leave early.

He also said he was “very persuaded” by calls to reimburse people and hoped to make an announcement soon.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here