AFCON 2021: Osimhen makes Super Eagles’ list despite head injury

Ahmed Musa Augustine Eguavoen Victor Osimhen (file photo).

Ahmed Musa                                              Augustine Eguavoen                              Victor Osimhen (file photo).

By Valentine Amanze

Super Eagles and Napoli striker Victor Osimhen has been included in the 28-man final list of the Nigerian team for the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) to be hosted by Cameroon despite not being 100 percent okey after his head injury.

Super Eagles interim manager, Augustine Eguavoen, released the list for the tournament on Saturday December 25, 2021.

The tourney, which is 33rd in the series, will hold between January 9 and February 6, 2022.

Captain Ahmed Musa, midfield enforcer Wilfred Ndidi, and forward Victor Osimhen were among those who made the cut for the big house party.

The three-time winners would confront seven-time and record winners Egypt; Sudan, and debutants Guinea Bissau with venue in the northern town of Garoua.

A clash with the Pharaohs in the group opener on January 11 means the Super Eagles must hit the ground at a blistering pace.

Former Nigeria captain, Eguavoen, who coached the Super Eagles to a third-place finish at the finals in Egypt 15 years ago, selected four goalkeepers, nine defenders, five midfielders, and 10 forwards to aim for Nigeria’s fourth diadem in Cameroon.

Goalkeepers Maduka Okoye and Francis Uzoho, defenders Kenneth Omeruo, Olaoluwa Aina and Abdullahi Shehu, midfielders Joseph Ayodele-Aribo and Chidera Ejuke, and forwards Moses Simon, Odion Ighalo, and Samuel Chukwueze were also on the roster.

There is a return to the group for former U-17 World Cup-winning captain Kelechi Nwakali, forward Emmanuel Dennis, and 2016 Olympics star Sadiq Umar.

All invited players, except the UK-based crew, are to arrive in camp in Abuja on Wednesday next week, with the UK-based players expected to start arriving on January 3.


See the full list of players below:

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (AC Omonia, Cyprus); John Noble (Enyimba FC); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands).

Defenders: Chidozie Awaziem (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Leon Balogun (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Abdullahi Shehu (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Olisa Ndah (Orlando Pirates, South Africa).

Midfielders: Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Galsgow Rangers, Scotland); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Chidera Ejuke (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Kelechi Nwakali (SD Huesca, Spain).

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Fatih Karagumruk, Turkey); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Sadiq Umar (UD Almeria, Spain); Taiwo Awoniyi (Union Berlin, Germany); Odion Jude Ighalo (Al-Shabab Riyadh, Saudi Arabia); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Emmanuel Dennis (Watford FC, England).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here